Slovenian higher education

Slovenia is part of the European Higher Education Area (a.k.a. Bologna system). Thus, studies are divided into 1st, 2nd, and 3rd cycle.

The first cycle study programmes are academic and professional study programs. Their duration is determined by years (three to four years) and ECTS credit points (180 to 240 ECTS). 60 credit points may be obtained per study year; 1 credit point consists of 25 to 30 hours of a student’s work.

The second cycle study programs are master’s study programs (master’s professional degree). They consist of 60 to 120 credit points and last from one to two years. The duration of an individual master’s study program must be planned with regard to the duration of the first cycle study program.

The total duration in the same field of study for master’s programs must not exceed five years (3+2, 4+1). The second cycle study programs also include single-cycle master’s study programs (300 ECTS).

The third cycle consists of one type of study program: doctoral study programs. It lasts for three years, and study requirements consist of 180 credit points, two thirds of which shall be acquired by research. The degrees in all three cycles can be formed as joint degrees.

Higher education institutions may organize and provide supplementary study programs as a form of lifelong learning. Studies are organized as full-time or part-time studies. More >>>

Grading system

Students’ learning achievements are graded according to the Slovene grading system, which is transferred in the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) as follows: 

  Slovene grading scheme   ECTS grading scheme   Description of the grades
  10 (Excellent)   A (Excellent)  Outstanding performance with only minor errors.
  9 (Very Good)   B (Very Good)   Above the average standard, but with some errors.
8 (Very Good)   C (Good)  Generally sound work with a number of notable errors.
 7 (Good) D (Satisfactory)   Fair, but with significant shortcomings.
  6 (Poor)   E (Sufficient) Performance meets the minimum criteria.
  5 – 1 (Unsatisfactory)   F, FX (Fail)   Considerable further work is required.


European Credit Transfer System (ECTS)

The European Community Course-Credit Transfer System (ECTS) was developed to provide common procedures to guarantee the academic recognition of studies abroad. It is based on the principle of mutual confidence and trust between the participating higher education institutions.

ECTS credits are a value allocated to course units to describe the student workload required to complete the course. They reflect the quantity of work each course unit requires in relation to the total quantity of work necessary to complete a full year of academic study at the institution. This includes lectures, practical work, seminars, tutorials, fieldwork, private study – in the library or at home – and examinations or other assessment activities. ECTS is thus based on a full student workload and not limited to contact hours only. In ECTS, 60 credits represent the workload of an academic year of study; a semester is normally 30 credits. One credit is awarded to 25 to 30 hours of student work. Credits are awarded only when the course has been completed and all required examinations have been passed.